Don’t fall for Tweet about seeing ‘U being taped,’ it steals your log-in info

By Robb Hicken/ BBB’s chief storyteller

 The email came from a trusted associate in Portland, and looks like it’s directed from my Twitter account.

It simply reads: “u even see them taping u himhttp://facebook.com/419853461409468?vbnjszn thats awful”. I waited to open this email until I got to work, because I am wary of any poorly written texts or emails.

When you click the link in the message, you’re directed to a Facebook page that asks you to log-in from  your Twitter account.

It’s a fake page and adding your details exposes you to identity theft. Our virus protector wouldn’t allow me to explore this one further.

An Internet search shows that the redirect is just a first step to get more information from you. It also takes you to a YouTube site, and beyond to a second Facebook page.

Don’t open suspicious emails.

2 Comments

Filed under Scam alert

2 responses to “Don’t fall for Tweet about seeing ‘U being taped,’ it steals your log-in info

  1. Nancy (pdxnancy)

    I have been trying to find out what this means for the past few days. I have received three twitter direct mails telling me that I am famous and someone is tapping my account. I couldn’t find out anything about it until I stumbled onto your blog. Thank you for the info.

    I did try to open the link, and it took me through exactly what you described. However, I closed my facebook account and couldn’t open the link. I did get through to the youtube, and it told me I needed to download an update, but my Norton Security blocked and removed the threat.

    Why do people do this, and do you have any more information on stopping this activity in the future? Should I just unfollow/block these people?

    Thank you so much for your post!

    • Best to let them know, through another web account that their information has been hacked and that they should take action to change passwords, account names, and notify all their friends about the attack.

      Why they do this? Steal your identity and eventually money. Thanks for the great feedback. Robb

Leave a Reply

