Put personal back into business, part of integrity

By Robb Hicken/ BBB’s chief storyteller

While attending an event at Columbia High School in Nampa, I went into the building where BBB was presenting at an expo.

After about two hours, I returned to my car to find a business card stuffed into the driver’s side window.

How many times have I returned from a shopping trip to find a flier or a leaflet stuffed under my windshield wiper blade? Countless.

So, almost instinctively, I reached out and grabbed the card and was ready to crumple it when I saw there was a personal message: “R-/Front tire bald – low on air.”

The card was a reminder I needed to replace my tires. Great.

But, beyond that, there was the reminder that if you step outside your comfort zone, you’ll get something back in return. Benny Choy, of HomeTeam Inspection Service in Nampa, could have walked right on by, never taken the time to put a note in my window. I’d have never known my tire was almost flat or that he’d passed up an opportunity to act with integrity.

Choy put his own personal standards and values on the line to show his integrity. When you look at integrity you can see an individual’s actions, values, methods, measures and principles. It’s regarded as the honesty of one’s actions.

It probably never crossed Benny’s mind that what he was doing was showing off his principles. As a matter of fact, he has probably performed countless acts of kindness. And, to top it off, I’m certain he never expected a reward or acknowledgement for what he did. He did it because it was the right thing to do. In this case, he may have saved me from an accident, since I was headed for the freeway.

When you in grain your value system so fully, it will translate to your family, community and business. You can communicate to your customers your commitment to honesty and transparency without giving it second thought.

Ken Blanchard, co-author of The One Minute Manager, says he absolutely believes in giving back.

“My own experience about all the blessings I’ve had in my life is that the more I give away, the more that comes back. This is the way life works, and that is the way energy works.”

As you go about your business, start to merge some basic approaches. Honesty, truthfulness, transparency, and responsiveness can be integrated into any business practice.

Find those little moments where you might step forward, do something that makes a customer, potential customer take note. If you can give a bit more than you take from customers you will see a shift in energy from making that next sell to helping with that next purchase.

It’s easy to see that Benny Choy approaches all business dealings, marketplace transactions and commitments with integrity, because of the six-word message he left in my window.

Leave a comment

Filed under News You Can Trust

Leave a Reply

